Category Archives: SOA Committees

SOA Council Meeting Minutes for March 10, 2021

The Society of Ohio Archivists most recent leadership meeting minutes, from March 10, 2021, can be found on the Council Meeting Minutes page. It includes many between-meeting actions from over the winter.

Interested in SOA over time? Also on that page are minutes dating back to 1997. In addition to documenting actions from the leadership meeting, minutes include reports from the treasurer as well as from committees and task forces.

New SOA Committee Cochairs named, summer 2020

Adam Wanter, president of the Society of Ohio Archivists, is pleased to announce new committee cochair appointments. Cochair terms are for two years, with possibility of one renewal. Terms run from June to July.

See the Committees page for information on all of SOA’s committees. Interested in committee work? Contact that committee’s chairs–info on that page.

Advocacy and Outreach
Jenifer Baker, Warren County Records Center & Archives replaces Melissa Dalton, Greene County Records Center and Archives, who was elected to Council. Jenifer joins Cochair Natalie Fritz, Clark County Historical Society.

Educational Programming
Rachael Bussert, Dayton Metro Library, replaces Stephanie Bricking, Public Library of Cincinnati and Hamilton County, who completed her term. Rachael joins Cochair William Modrow, Miami University.

Marketing and Communications
Amanda Rindler, Ohio History Connection, joins Cochair Janet Carleton, Ohio University.

Newest Council Members and Council Liaisons

Although the SOA Annual meeting is over, we have a couple of new bits of information to share below:

The newest council members and treasurer have been announced!

Council Members:

  • Cate Putirskis – Special Collections Processing Manager, Ohio State University Libraries
  • Sherri Goudy – Ohio History Service Corps Member, Logan County History Center/Ohio History Connection


  • Mark Bloom – Archives Associate, Senior, The University of Akron

We also have the new list of Council Liaisons (check the various committee pages for updates soon)


Updates from SOA President about Committees

In an effort to keep everyone up-to-date Council wanted to share a listing of our current committees, committee chairs and Council liaisons. You may note that we have five new committee chairs: Janet Carleton (Educational Programming); Andrew Harris (Public Information); Elise Kelly (Advocacy and Outreach); Collette McDonough (Educational Programming); and Cate Putirskis (Membership). Please join me in welcoming them to their new positions. I would also like to take this time to thank our outgoing chairs for their service: Shelley Blundell (Educational Programming); Ron Davidson (Membership); and Jennie Thomas (Advocacy and Outreach). We appreciate your service and enjoyed working with you over the past year!

If you are interested in volunteering to work with a committee, please contact the committee chair using the email address provided. To learn more about each of the committees, please visit: If you have previously served/are currently serving on a committee you should be hearing from your Committee Chair regarding current and upcoming projects.

We are looking forward to working with all of you over the coming year. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to call or email me using my contact information listed below.

Committee Chairs and Liaisons

• Advocacy and Outreach
o Council liaisons – Ron Davidson and Robin Heise
o Committee co-chairs – George Bain ( and Elise Kelly (

• Awards
o Council Liaison – Lonna McKinley
o Committee chair – Devhra BennettJones (

• Educational Programming Committee
o Council Liaison – Sasha Griffin
o Committee co-chairs – Janet Carleton ( and Collette McDonough (

• Membership
o Council Liaison – Mark Bloom
o Committee chair – Cate Putirskis (

• Nominating
o Council liaison – Judith Wiener (

• Public Information Committee
o Council Liaison – Jennifer Brancato
o Committee chair – Andrew Harris (

Thank you,

Jillian Carney
SOA President 2015-2017