SOA Committees & Task Forces


Standing Committees

Advocacy and Outreach

The Advocacy and Outreach Committee is comprised of two subcommittees: Advocacy and Outreach.
– The Advocacy subcommittee is responsible for promoting advocacy in response to legislative issues that may impact archives, diversity, and the role of archives and archivists within society. The Advocacy subcommittee will facilitate access to resources that will aid archivists in advocating for the profession and collections to administrators and institutional stakeholders. It also communicates news from the National Coalition for History.
– The Outreach subcommittee is responsible for advocating the importance of archives throughout the state of Ohio through programmatic planning such as Statehood Day, Archives Month, and the I Found it in the Archives platform for sharing archival discoveries.

See all blog posts tagged Advocacy and Outreach.

Contact the Committee Cochairs Jenifer Baker and Natalie Fritz.

Haley Antell, Kent State University
George Bain, Ohio University Libraries, retired
Jenifer Baker, Warren County Records Center & Archives (cochair)
Connie Connor, Ohio History Connection
Melissa Dalton, Greene County Records Center and Archives
Natalie Fritz, Clark County Historical Society (cochair)
Ken Grossi, Oberlin College
Jacky Johnson, Miami University
Collette McDonough, Kettering Foundation
Matt McShane
Amy Rohmiller, University of Dayton University Archives and Special Collections
Laura E. Smith, Ohio University

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee solicits and reviews award applications for the Merit Award and Meeting Scholarships. The committee is responsible for publicizing the availability of the awards and the identification and selection of awardees according to the criteria set by SOA Council.

The Awards Committee is responsible for publicizing the availability and the standards of the SOA Merit Award, SOA New Professional Scholarship Award, and the SOA Student Scholarship Award. Committee members solicit and review applications for these awards, then identify and select awardees according to the criteria set by SOA. The Committee is also responsible for History Day involvement which includes judging for special SOA History Day Award.

See all blog posts tagged Awards & Scholarships.

Contact the Committee Cochair Stephanie Shreffler.

William C. Barrow, Cleveland State University
Lily Birkhimer, Ohio History Connection
Helen Conger, Case Western Reserve University
Kevin Grace, University of Cincinnati
Glenn V. Longacre, National Archives at Chicago
Stephanie Shreffler, University of Dayton (cochair)
Pamela Winchell

Educational Programming Committee

The Educational Programming Committee plans the Annual Meeting (spring), joint fall meeting with Ohio Local History Alliance, and professional development workshops. Activities include choosing a conference theme, solicitation and selection of session presenters, selection of plenary speaker, publication and distribution of conference announcements, and soliciting sponsors.

See all blog posts tagged Conferences-Meetings.

Contact the Committee Cochairs Rachael Bussert and William Modrow

Rachael Bussert, Dayton Metro Library (cochair)
Vic Fleischer, University of Akron
Sherri Goudy, Independent archivist, researcher, and writer (SOA Vice President/President-Elect)
Betsy Hedler, Ohio History Connection (SOA/OHC Liaison)
William Modrow, Miami University (cochair)
Anne Ryckbost, Xavier University

Marketing and Communications Committee

The Marketing and Communications Committee (formerly Public Information or PIC) is responsible for public relations and outreach for SOA through the process of generating content and maintaining the tools to communicate SOA information. Duties and responsibilities include managing the SOA website and social media accounts (Facebook, Flickr, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Twitter, YouTube), assisting in moderation of SOA Listserv, responding to SOA email inquiries, and documenting SOA events through photographs.

Contact the Committee Cochairs Janet Carleton and Amanda Rindler.

Janet Carleton, Ohio University (1999-, chair 2019-2021)
Emily Gainer, Cummings Center for the History of Psychology (2020-2022)
Christine Liebson, Case Western Reserve University (2020-2022)
Nick Pavlik, Bowling Green State University (2017-2022)
Amanda Rindler, Ohio History Connection (2019-, chair 2020-2022)
Jane Wildermuth, Wright State University (2019-2021)

Membership Committee

The Membership Committee recruits and supports new and renewing members. Committee members identify events and/or organization throughout the state in order to distribute membership literature. The committee is responsible for writing and updating membership literature, including the annual membership drive letter, and the membership brochure. See membership information for how to join SOA.

See all blog posts tagged Membership.

Contact the Committee Chair Matt Francis.

Mark Bloom, Archival Services, University of Akron
Matt Francis, Ohio Northern University (chair)
Lisa Rickey, Wright State University (SOA treasurer)
Cate Putirskis, The Ohio State University

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee annually prepares and submits a slate of candidates for vacant officer positions and Council seats. The committee is made up of the immediate past-president (who shall serve as chair) and two additional members of the Society who are not on Council. Committee members must serve at least one year.

See all blog posts tagged Elections.

Contact the committee chair Robin Heise.

John Dewees, Toledo Lucas County Public Library (2020-)
Robin Heise, Greene County Records Center & Archives (chair)
Miriam Intrator, Ohio University (2020-)
Judith Wiener, The Ohio State Library

Ad Hoc Committees

Strategic Planning Committee

The Strategic Planning Committee works with Council and is responsible for SOA’s mission and long-term vision and development. Membership will consist of the President, Past-President, two standing committee cochairs, and two at-large members. View the existing Strategic Plan.

Emily Gainer (At-Large)
Robin Heise (Past President)
Adam Wanter (President)
Judy Wiener (At-Large)
TBD (standing committee cochair)
TBD (standing committee cochair)

Task Forces

Social Justice and Black Lives Matter Task Force

The Task Force on Social Justice and Black Lives Matter is responsible for identifying, promoting, developing, and educating on antiracist and social justice resources, efforts, and actions for SOA Council, Committees, and Membership. See charge and other details on the SJBLM page.

See all blog posts tagged BLM.

See the SOA Council Statement on Racial Inequality and Black Lives Matter. June 3, 2020.

Contact the Task Force Chair Jessica Heys.

Devhra BennettJones (2020- )
Madeleine Fix, Nationwide Insurance (2020- )
Sherri Goudy, Nerd Girl History Adventure (Council liaison)
Jessica Heys, Kettering Foundation (chair 2020-2022)
Kristen Newby, Ohio History Connection (2020- )
Penelope Shumaker, State Library of Ohio (2020- )
Nicole Sutton, Columbus Metropolitan Library (2020- )

Representatives to Other Groups

Ohio Historical Records Advisory Board (OHRAB)

William Modrow (23 August 2019-23 August 2022) | Group website.

Regional Archival Associations Consortium (RAAC)

Janet Carleton (August 2017-August 2021) | Group website.


Last Updated on February 1, 2021 by janet_carleton