## Society of Ohio Archivists (SOA) Business Meeting 2023 Annual Meeting - Dayton Metro Library May 12, 2023

## 1. Welcome

- a. President Amy Rohmiller called the meeting to order at 12:48 pm.
- 2. Recognition of Outgoing Leaders
  - a. Rohmiller recognized:
    - i. Jen Johnson, Secretary
    - ii. Sasha Kim, Council
    - iii. Janet Carleton, Marketing & Communication Committee Co-chair
    - iv. Stephanie Shreffler, Membership & Awards Committee Co-chair
    - v. Devhra BennettJones, JEDAI Chair
    - vi. Adam Wanter, Educational Programming Committee Co-chair
- 3. Incoming Leaders Election Results
  - a. Rohmiller presented election results:
    - i. President Melissa Dalton
    - ii. Vice President/President-Elect Matt Francis
    - iii. Secretary Shelby Beatty
    - iv. Council Kristen Newby
- 4. Award Winners
  - a. Jennifer Long Morehart, Membership & Awards Co-chair, presented award winners:
    - i. Scholarships
      - 1. Students
        - a. Kirsten Dilger, Wright State University
        - b. Jacob Stickel, Wright State University
      - 2. New Professionals
        - a. Paige Kinzler
        - b. Colleen Badenhop
    - ii. Merit Awards
      - 1. Warren County Records Center & Archives
      - 2. Adam Wanter
- 5. Committees Reports
  - a. Treasurer
    - i. Rohmiller Membership dues were raised in January 2023 for the first time since 1996 to help close the gap between revenue and expenses.
  - b. Advocacy and Outreach (AOC)
    - i. Collette McDonough Voting still open for Archive Month poster submissions (closes May 14). There will be an online unveiling event in September. Currently reviewing member mailing lists.
  - c. Membership and Awards (MAC)
    - i. Jennifer Long Morehart The Committee established procedures for the hardship program.

- d. Educational Programming (EPC)
  - i. Adam Wanter Planned Spring conference. We're looking for committee members. Also looking for Ohio Local History Alliance (OLHA) poster submissions.
- e. Newsletter
  - i. No report
- f. Nominating (NC)
  - i. Rohmiller Thank you for voting in the leadership election. Thank you to Marsha for running this year's elections.
- g. Marketing & Communication (MCC)
  - i. Jane Wildermuth Thank you to Janet Carleton. Welcome Julia Teran to committee.
- h. Justice, Equity, Diversity, Accountability, and Inclusion (JEDAI)
  - i. Penelope Shoemaker Moved from task force to full committee. Currently working on committee goals.
- 6. Old Business
  - a. No old business
- 7. New Business
  - a. Strategic Plan
    - i. Rohmiller Council currently working on strategic plan. The plan will focus on value SOA provides to archival community. It should be available in late Summer 2023.
  - b. Jennifer Haney Conover NAGARA conference is in Cincinnati this year, July 18-21, 2023. Any questions can be directed to Jennifer, incoming NAGARA President.
- 8. Adjournment
  - a. Rohmiller adjourned the meeting at 1:09 pm.

Minutes recorded by Shelby Beatty, Secretary