About the Award

The Society of Ohio Archivists is pleased to announce four scholarships available to students (2 awards), and new archival professionals (2 awards) with three years or less experience in the workplace, to attend the Annual Meeting. The Awards Committee is responsible for soliciting nominations and submitting recommendations to Council. Awards are announced and presented at the Annual Meeting.

The scholarship consists of conference registration (including lunch), a one-year membership to SOA, and a $100 travel stipend. Awardees are required to submit a photograph and write about their experience for publication in the Ohio Archivist newsletter.

How to Apply

Applications should include the following information:

  • Applicant’s name, mailing address, and e-mail address.
  • Students should list their school’s name and academic program;
  • New professionals should list their employer and number of years working within the field;
  • Description about how the meeting will benefit the applicant professionally;
  • Brief description of the applicant’s scholarship and contribution to archives. This will be
  • taken into consideration along with the applicant’s number of years in the field or academic study; Statement of the applicant’s need for financial support to attend the conference;

Applications and inquiries can be sent via e-mail to Awards Committee Cochair Devhra BennettJones. Nominations are generally due in the early spring (March 13 in 2020).


New Professional Scholarship Awards

2020: Marisa Martin, Digital Content Producer, Gilmour Academy
2020: Riza Miklowski, Archives and Special Collections Intern, Oberlin College Archives and Special Collections
2020: Zoe Orcutt, Library Research Assistant, University of Akron University Libraries
2020: Candace Pine, Visiting Manuscript Librarian, Miami University
2019: Stacy Chaney-Blankenship, Special Collections Librarian, Ohio Wesleyan University
2019: Elizabeth James, Archivist and Digital Preservation Librarian, Marshall University
2019: Lisa Smilnak, Digital Content and Special Collections Librarian, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University
2019: Brianna Treleven, Ohio History Service Corps Member/Andy Warhol Museum Archives
2018: Dakota Harkins, Manager of Operations, Lakeside Heritage Society
2018: Samantha Martin, Archivist, Airstream, Inc.
2017: Jenifer Baker, Warren County Records Center & Archives
2017: Ivey Barker, Image Permanence Institute at the Rochester Institute of Technology
2016: Jessica Cromer, Contractor, Kettering Foundation Archives
2015: Maren McKee, Collections Manger, Oberlin Heritage Center
2015: Shaneé Yvette Murrain, Seminary Archivist, Payne Theological Seminar
2014: Kayla Harris, Records Manager and Archivist, Clinton County Records and Archives
2014: Jessica Maiberger, Rutherford B. Hayes Presidential Center/Huron Historical Society
2014: Rebecca Mattson, Collection Development Librarian, Cleveland-Marshall College of Law, Cleveland State University

Student Scholarship Awards

2020: No Awards
2019: No Awards
2018: Amy Brickey, Wright State University
2018: Julie Hale, Wright State University
2017: Kristina Richey, Simmons College
2017: Cara Yurkowski, Valdosta State University
2016: Madeleine Fix, Kent State University
2016: Kelly Francis-Love, Kent State University
2016: Ellen Mitchell, University of Akron
2015: Shelby Dixon, Wright State University
2015: Nina Herzog, Wright State University
2014: Miranda Doran-Myers, Florida State University

Last Updated on October 16, 2020 by janet_carleton